2019 Awards, Honors & Recognitions



UChicago Medicine was awarded its 16th consecutive ‘A’ in hospital safety from The Leapfrog Group. We've earned sequential top marks since Leapfrog began producing its twice yearly survey in 2012.

  • Lolita Alkureishi, MD, was named a winner of the American Board of Internal Medicine Foundation’s Trust Practice Challenge.
  • Lainie Ross, MD, PhD, has been elected to membership in the Society for Pediatric Research.
  • Peter Smith, MD, was named Chair of the Advocacy Committee of the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Section of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics.  Smith also serves as a member of the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Editorial Advisory Committee for the 12th Edition of the Definition Terminology & Classification Manual.
  • Bradley Stolbach, PhD, received philanthropic funding as part of the $9.1 million gift by the Block Hassenfeld Casdin Collaborative for Family Resilience, which provides an ecosystem of trauma-informed care for children and their familites who are critically injured or exposed to violence on the South Side of Chicago.
  • H. Barrett Fromme, MD, MHPE, was named Director of the Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators.
  • Thea Stranger-Najjar was appointed to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) Coordinator Advisory Council for a 3-year term.